top of page

Wordy Wednesdays

Darkness was my first friend I was suspended in dark waters before I was born So darkness seemed so familiar to me Darkness kept all my secrets , as best friends should Darkness held me when I was afraid. Darkness understood At birth I turned myself away from light and I guess even then darkness was all I knew Light is blinding. My eyes never seemed to adjust to it. But darkness. Darkness is easy, darkness is comfortable. I’ve run away from light for as long as I can remember. Maybe that’s why You gave me a name that means Dawn. A tomb was my first home. My mother’s womb held miscarriage and then: me. So I was formed in a place that held dead dreams. A tomb filled with water; we are all born drowning. And the spirit moved on the surface of the waters. A tomb was my first home ... until He called forth- Talitha Kumi. Death was my first love. And death can be a jealous lover. Death kissed my lips, my eyes, my mind. Death held me when no one was there. Maybe that’s why I always run in to cold arms that can never warm this tepid soul. You are light. A soft glow that radiates. That gives warmth and illuminates. When darkness gave cold comfort your light holds my pain, melting it down and molding hardened clay. Your light gives light before seed starts to germinate. Everlasting, your light always shines, never fades. You lay in a tomb. Birthed from women’s womb. But out of dead places arose life. Baby born in a stable, you know strife. A man of sorrows, a baby born lowly. Angels worship your name, singing Holy, Holy, Holy. You dress dry bones with garments of flesh. You breath life into dead things. You exchange beauty for this mess. You shower me with life abundance and lay my dead things to rest. You hold me in arms like wings. Separate me from sin, east to west. In your light darkness flees. You call me a friend. Out of tomb, Life itself breathes. Death is not end


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page