top of page

I will not back down

I lay my weary head to rest My breath feels heavy on my chest From Dawn until the son doth set My bones are burdened with regret I question reason, ask logic why I curse the heavens, storm the sky With rage like fire burning bright I cry rivers of tears into the night Yet still I rise with crack of dawn My body aches, my joints feel torn My countenance falls, my patience worn Sorrow overcomes me, my soul mourns Then daybreak comes and there is light But I feel too weak to get up and fight And all the wars fought in this big night Continue now as the sun shines bright And the world it turns and the days count down Still in this battle is where I’ll be found Torn and tattered. Pummeled to the ground But I will not give in, I will not back down


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page