top of page

Welcome to the one woman show

Tonight I danced it out. In front of those beautiful floor to ceiling mirrors in my bathroom that serve as my cupboard doors. I don’t think I’ve ever appreciated those mirrors as I did tonight. Welcome to the one woman show, starring the incomparable Roxanne Eleanor Jason... Sometimes you’ve just got to dance it out you know. You’ve just got to muster up the Meredith Grey or Christina Yang in you and dance it out. “Is this the look of freedom”. Maybe not in the enormity and weight of that word but in some small way a 30 minutes or 30 second dance party is freedom. In the same way that stopping your car on the side of the road to go run in the field with someone who gives you the best hugs is freedom. It’s the big little things. Yeah, maybe it took life knocking me around a bit, maybe it took being constantly disappointed and a whole lot of anger, maybe I was just tired of not being chosen. So I chose myself. I’ll sit there and watch me choose me. No matter how long it takes. “You’re all I need to get by”... yes, yes you are. Roxanne Eleanor Jason- you and how you carry Jesus... that’s all I need. And man how I need you to be you. The you that God made you to be. The girl who has one woman dance parties, who is so comfortable in her self that she does open mic in a completely new space, who attends poetry workshops and poetry tours alone: because she likes these things and “I don’t care if I’m the only one who likes that”. Also the girl who will tell her friends that she “misses their faces” as much times as she feels like it, who will do hour long phone calls and even longer doing one on one catch ups : because it’s about the quality of the time that makes the energy it takes worth the sacrifice. The girl whose love you will never forget because she loves so damn hard and, against the backdrop of how much she has cut herself on the sharp edges of rejection and abandonment, that Love really shines Red. The girl who does NOT edit anything including the intensity of her feelings. I both am and am becoming that girl. So welcome to the one woman show staring the incomparable, Doe. Won’t you stay for a while, we’d love to have you. But if you must go, only take the best parts of me when you leave. Love and Light Doe 


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page